Master Educator of the Year

2023 Master Teachers: Rita Ferriter, Susan Godwin and Jennifer Lee-Good

Each year, the Faculty Development Committee selects a faculty member as the Master Teacher based on nominations submitted, nominees interviewed, and so forth. Faculty members may not receive the Master Teacher award more than once every five years as a single winner but can receive the award within this time period if part of a team.

Online Master Educator Nomination Form

The below listed nomination categories are based on program strands established by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD):

  • Teaching and Learning
    Demonstration of classroom teaching and learning strategies; practical applications of  instructional technology; description of classroom assessment procedures.
  • Leadership Development
    Faculty/staff selection and evaluation practices; policies for evaluation of instruction; indices of institutional effectiveness in practice; examples of institutional support of teaching and learning; examples of student leadership development programs and instruction.
  • Career Development
    Strategies for professional/faculty/staff development; activities for personal career advancement.
  • Teamship Development
    Innovative practices for establishing and promoting individual program and institutionwide teams; description of successful community/business/college collaborations and partnerships.

Previous Master Teacher of the Year Recipients